About

Welcome on the Whisky (Whiskey) Online Shop of Monnier Trading AG in Studen.

whiskytime.ch stand for the refined indulgence! A lot of information about the water of life (uisge beatha), about 600 Whisky (Whiskey) and 3500 Rare Whisky (Whiskey Rarities), 60 Grappa, 200 Rum (Rhum) (Ron) and other noble spirits on offer.

Martin Monnier loves noble spirits, especially Single Malt Whisky (Whiskey). He likes to share this passion and his great knowledge with you! Get advice and experience the fascination and the variety of aromas and flavours. Tasting notes help you choose. For questions about Whisky (Whiskey), Grappa, Rum (Rhum), (Ron) or other fine spirits, please contact us.

Have a nice time browsing our site!

History of the business

All began on the 1st January 1975  in a little wooden shed in Biel with a home delivery service. In June 1981 my parents launched the beverage market in Studen. The range of products included several brands of mineral waters and beer in different sizes. The location has remained the same up to this very day.

  • Dec. 1999 take over by Martin and Stefan Monnier
  • Dec. 2000 Diversification with single malt whiskies
  • Feb. 2001 Website launched
  • July 2003 Online store for malt whiskies 
  • Nov. 2004 First own bottling / Old Pulteney 64/39Y “Oldtimer Collection“ 
  • Jan. 2005 Conversion into a public limited company
  • Nov. 2006 Second own bottling / Port Ellen 83/23Y “Oldtimer Collection“ 
  • Feb. 2008 New website with a members’ area
  • Nov. 2012 Opening of the whisky-rarity-gallery
  • Jun. 2016 Refreshing of the homepage and adaption on neu Media

In December 2000, we began taking advantage of my brother’s penchant for a good vintage, for single malt whiskies in particular, by building up a very successful second foothold. At present we are one of the three leading malt whisky specialist shops in Switzerland with 3 exclusive imports:

– Jack Wiebers Whisky World
– David Stirk
– Valinch&Mallet Ltd.

During the last years, port wine, grappa, vodka, rum and cognac have been added. With this additional diversification, we will continue to solidify our position in the marketplace.

At the Mowhita 2013 we might open our rarity gallery. Now with approx. 3500 rare Whisky bottlings, Monnier is belongs to the biggest whisky specialist shops of Europe.

Team

Martin Monnier
CEO

Martin_Monnier_02

I am out-spoken, frank, and like approaching people. My main area of responsibility is the single malt business, where I meet interesting new people every day. In private I have been an aficionado of noble malt whiskies for years. At the end of an exciting and busy day, I like to indulge in a fine single malt – for me, this is the best way to sit back and relax.

In my youth I played badminton and 2 years ago I've started again because I lacked a sporting compensation. I'm very ambitious and I would like to be promoted in the 3rd league with the 2nd team of the BC Biel.

Stefan Monnier
CFO

DSC_7948_01

I am the man in the background. Regarding my disposition, I tend to be the retiring and cautious one. This may be the reason why we complement each other so well. My main area of responsibility is finance and all kinds of administrative tasks such as dealing with authorities and lawyers etc. For compensation, I do a lot of exercise either in sports or clubbing to the music of the 60s, 70s, and 80s.

Used I was a very active badminton player during 8 years and also some times the treasurer of the BC Biel. Today I only play for my fun. Through my active career I've learned a lot and I would like to parting these knowledges.

A propos de nous

Bienvenu sur la boutique en ligne (Online Shop) de Monnier Trading AG à Studen.

whiskytime.ch signifie pour une saveur noble! La site vous offre beaucoup d’informations sur l’eau de vie (uisge beatha) et une gamme d’environ 600 Whisky (Whiskey) et 3500 Whisky rares (Whiskey Rarétés), 60 Grappa, 200 Rhum (Rum), (Ron) et d’autres liqueurs nobles.

Martin Monnier aime les gouttes nobles, surtout le Single Malt Whisky (Whiskey). Il aime à partager sa passion et ces connaissances avec vous! Laissez-vous conseiller et vivez la fascination et les diversités des saveurs. Les notes de dégustation vous aident à séléctionner. Pour vos questions autour du Whisky (Whiskey), Grappa, Rhum (Rum), (Ron) ou d’autres liqueurs nobles nous vous prions de bien vouloir nous contacter.

Nous vous souhaitant beaucoup de plaisir en surfant sur notre site!

L'histoire des affaires

Tout a commencé le 1.1.1975 avec un service de livraison à domicile dans une petite cabane en bois à Bienne. Mes parents ont ouvert en juin 1981 le dépôt de boissons à Studen. L’assortiment couvrait de différents types de bières et d’eaux minérale en différentes dimensions. L’emplacement est resté jusqu’à aujourd’hui le même.

  • Décembre 1999 Reprise du magasin par Martin et Stefan Monnier
  • Décembre 2000  Élargissement de l’assortiment avec des Whiskies Single Malt
  • Février 2001   Propre site Internet
  • Juillet 2003   Notre propre Online-Shop pour les Whiskies Malt
  • Novembre 2004  1ère propre mise en bouteille / Old Pulteney 64/39Y “Oldtimer-Collection“
  • Janvier 2005 Transformation du changement en S.A.
  • Novembre 2006  2ème propre mise en bouteille / Port Ellen 83/23Y    “Oldtimer-Collection“
  • Février 2008   Nouveau site Internet avec domaine de membres
  • Novembre 2014 Ouverture de la galerie de Whisky rares
  • Juin 2016 Modernisation du site internet avec une adaption aux nouveaux médias.

En décembre 2000, nous avons commencé à développer avec succès de la passion de mon frère pour les gouttes nobles, en particulier pour les Whiskies Single Malt des Whiskies, un 2ème pilier. Aujourd’hui, nous faisons partie des 3 entreprises spécialisées pour le Whisky Malt dirigeantes en Suisse avec 2 importateurs généraux exclusives :

– Jack Wiebers Whisky World
– David Stirk

Au cours des dernières années nous avons pris dans notre assortiment les Portos, les Grappas, les Wodkas, les Rhums et les Cognacs. Avec cet élargissement d’assortiment supplémentaire, nous pouvons renforcer notre part de marché dans le secteur des liqueurs nobles.

A la Mowhita 2013, nous pouvions ouvrir notre galerie de Whisky rares. Maintenant avec environ 3500 rares mises en bouteilles de whisky, Monnier fait partie des plus grands magasins spécialisés de whisky de l’Europe.

Team

Martin Monnier
CEO

Martin_Monnier_02

Je suis direct, ouvert et j’aime le contact avec les gens. Mon activité centrale est le domaine du Single Malt, qui me permet chaque jour de rencontrer des gens nouveaux et intéressants. Privé, je suis depuis plusieurs années un grand admirateur de Whiskies malt nobles. Après une journée agitée je savoure souvent un bon Single Malt – c’est pour moi le meilleur moyen de relaxer.

Dans ma jeunesse, j'ai joué au badminton et il y a 2 ans, j'ai commencé à nouveau parce qu'il m'a manqué une compensation sportive. Je suis très ambitieux et j'aimerai monter dans la 3e ligue avec le 2e équipe du BC Bienne.

Stefan Monnier
CFO

DSC_7948_01

Je suis l'homme dans l'arrière-plan. Je suis plutôt réservé dans mon naturel, le prudent. Cela peut être la raison, pourquoi nous nous complétons si bien. Les finances et tous les types de tâches administratives sont mon emploi central comme des demandes d'autorités et d’avocats etc.. Pour la compensation j’adore bouger, que ce soit en faisant du sport ou pendant une sortie en boîte où ils passent ma musique préférée des années 60, 70 et 80.

Pendant ma jeunesse j'ai joué activement du Badminton pour 8 ans et j'ai aussi été cassier du BC Biel. Aujourd'hui je joue seulement pour le plaisir. A travers mon temps active j'ai beaucoup appris et j'aimerais partager ses connaissances.