About

Welcome on the Whisky (Whiskey) Online Shop of Monnier Trading AG in Studen.

whiskytime.ch stand for the refined indulgence! A lot of information about the water of life (uisge beatha), about 600 Whisky (Whiskey) and 3500 Rare Whisky (Whiskey Rarities), 60 Grappa, 200 Rum (Rhum) (Ron) and other noble spirits on offer.

Martin Monnier loves noble spirits, especially Single Malt Whisky (Whiskey). He likes to share this passion and his great knowledge with you! Get advice and experience the fascination and the variety of aromas and flavours. Tasting notes help you choose. For questions about Whisky (Whiskey), Grappa, Rum (Rhum), (Ron) or other fine spirits, please contact us.

Have a nice time browsing our site!

History of the business

All began on the 1st January 1975  in a little wooden shed in Biel with a home delivery service. In June 1981 my parents launched the beverage market in Studen. The range of products included several brands of mineral waters and beer in different sizes. The location has remained the same up to this very day.

  • Dec. 1999 take over by Martin and Stefan Monnier
  • Dec. 2000 Diversification with single malt whiskies
  • Feb. 2001 Website launched
  • July 2003 Online store for malt whiskies 
  • Nov. 2004 First own bottling / Old Pulteney 64/39Y “Oldtimer Collection“ 
  • Jan. 2005 Conversion into a public limited company
  • Nov. 2006 Second own bottling / Port Ellen 83/23Y “Oldtimer Collection“ 
  • Feb. 2008 New website with a members’ area
  • Nov. 2012 Opening of the whisky-rarity-gallery
  • Jun. 2016 Refreshing of the homepage and adaption on neu Media

In December 2000, we began taking advantage of my brother’s penchant for a good vintage, for single malt whiskies in particular, by building up a very successful second foothold. At present we are one of the three leading malt whisky specialist shops in Switzerland with 3 exclusive imports:

– Jack Wiebers Whisky World
– David Stirk
– Valinch&Mallet Ltd.

During the last years, port wine, grappa, vodka, rum and cognac have been added. With this additional diversification, we will continue to solidify our position in the marketplace.

At the Mowhita 2013 we might open our rarity gallery. Now with approx. 3500 rare Whisky bottlings, Monnier is belongs to the biggest whisky specialist shops of Europe.

Team

Martin Monnier
CEO

Martin_Monnier_02

I am out-spoken, frank, and like approaching people. My main area of responsibility is the single malt business, where I meet interesting new people every day. In private I have been an aficionado of noble malt whiskies for years. At the end of an exciting and busy day, I like to indulge in a fine single malt – for me, this is the best way to sit back and relax.

In my youth I played badminton and 2 years ago I've started again because I lacked a sporting compensation. I'm very ambitious and I would like to be promoted in the 3rd league with the 2nd team of the BC Biel.

Stefan Monnier
CFO

DSC_7948_01

I am the man in the background. Regarding my disposition, I tend to be the retiring and cautious one. This may be the reason why we complement each other so well. My main area of responsibility is finance and all kinds of administrative tasks such as dealing with authorities and lawyers etc. For compensation, I do a lot of exercise either in sports or clubbing to the music of the 60s, 70s, and 80s.

Used I was a very active badminton player during 8 years and also some times the treasurer of the BC Biel. Today I only play for my fun. Through my active career I've learned a lot and I would like to parting these knowledges.

Über uns

Herzlich willkommen beim Whisky (Whiskey) Online Shop der Monnier Trading AG in Studen.

whiskytime.ch steht für den edlen Genuss! Viele Informationen rund um das Wasser des Lebens (Uisge beatha), ca 600 Whisky (Whiskey) und 3500 Whisky-Raritäten (Whiskey-Raritäten), 60 Grappa, 200 Rum (Rhum) (Ron) und andere Edel-Spirituosen im Angebot.

Martin Monnier liebt edle Tropfen, vorallem Single Malt Whisky (Whiskey). Diese Leidenschaft und sein grosses Wissen teilt er gerne mit Ihnen! Lassen Sie sich beraten und erleben Sie die Faszination und die Vielfalt der Aromen und Geschmacksrichtungen. Tasting-Noten erleichtern Ihnen die Auswahl. Für Fragen rund um Whisky (Whiskey), Grappa, Rum (Rhum), (Ron) und andere Edel-Spirituosen nehmen Sie bitte Kontakt mit uns auf.

Viel Spass beim surfen!

Geschichte des Unternehmens

Alles begann am 1.1.1975 mit einem Hauslieferdienst in einem kleinen Holzschuppen in Biel. Im Juni 1981 eröffneten meine Eltern den Getränke-Markt in Studen. Das Sortiment umfasste verschiedene Mineralwasser- &  Biermarken in verschiedenen Grössen. Der Standort ist bis heute derselbe geblieben.

  • Dez. 1999 Uebernahme des Geschäftes durch Martin und Stefan Monnier
  • Dez. 2000 Sortiment-Erweiterung mit Single Malt Whiskies
  • Feb. 2001 erste Homepage
  • Juli 2003 Eigener Online-Shop für Malt Whiskies
  • Nov. 2004 1. eigene Abfüllung / Old Pulteney 64/39Y „Oldtimer-Collection“
  • Jan. 2005 Umwandlung in eine Aktiengesellschaft
  • Nov. 2006 2. eigene Abfüllung / Port Ellen 83/23Y „Oldtimer-Collection“
  • Feb. 2008 Neue Homepage mit Memberbereich
  • Nov. 2013 Eröffnung Whisky-Raritäten-Galerie
  • Juni 2016 Homepagemdernisierung mit Anpassung an die neuen Medien

Im Dezember 2000 haben wir begonnen die Leidenschaft meines Bruders für edle Tropfen, insbesondere für Single Malt Whiskies,  zu einem sehr erfolgreichen 2. Standbein auszubauen. Heute gehören wir zu den 3 führenden Malt Whisky Fachgeschäften in der Schweiz mit 3 exklusiven Generalimporten:

– Jack Wiebers Whisky World
– David Stirk
– Valinch&Mallet Ltd.

In den letzten Jahren sind neu Portwein, Grappa, Wodka, Rum und Cognac dazugekommen. Mit dieser zusätzlichen Sortiment-Erweiterung konnten wir unsere Marktposition im Bereich Edelspirituosen weiter festigen.

Mit der Mowhita 2013 durften wir unsere Raritäten-Galerie eröffnen. Mit ca. 3500 seltenen Whisky-Abfüllungen gehört Monnier nun zu den grössten Whisky-Fachgeschäften von Europa.

Team

Martin Monnier
CEO

Martin_Monnier_02

Ich bin direkt, offen und gehe sehr gerne auf Menschen zu. Meine Kernbeschäftigung ist das Single Malt-Geschäft, wo ich jeden Tag neue interessante Menschen kennen lerne. Privat bin ich schon etliche Jahre ein grosser Liebhaber edler Malt Whiskies. Nach einem aufregenden und geschäftigen Tag genehmige ich mir sehr gerne einen guten Single Malt - für mich die beste Art abzuschalten und zu entspannen.

In jungen Jahren spielte ich Badminton und vor 2 Jahren habe ich damit wieder begonnen, weil mir ein sportlicher Ausgleich fehlte. Der Ehrgeiz hat mich wieder gepackt und ich möchte mit der 2. Mannschaft des BC Biel in die 3. Liga aufsteigen.

Stefan Monnier
CFO

DSC_7948_01

Ich bin der Mann im Hintergrund. Ich bin in meinem Naturell eher der Zurückhaltende, der Vorsichtige. Dies mag der Grund sein, weshalb wir uns so gut ergänzen. Meine Kernbeschäftigung sind die Finanzen und alle Arten administrativer Aufgaben wie Behördenanliegen und Anwälte usw.  Zum Ausgleich bewege ich mich sehr gerne, sei es beim Sport oder im Ausgang zu bevorzugter Musik aus den 60er-, 70er- und 80er-Jahren.

Früher war ich während 8 Jahren ein sehr aktiver Badmintonspieler und war einige Zeit im Vorstand des Badmintonclubs Biel als Kassier tätig. Heute spiele ich nur noch zum Vergnügen. Durch meine Aktivzeit habe ich viel gelernt und möchte dies gern weiter geben.